You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Two Sea Eagles named in Australian Prime Minister’s XIII squad

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles half-back Daly Cherry-Evans and lock Jake Trbojevic have been named in the Australian Prime Minister’s XIII squad to take on PNG PM’s XIII team.

The match will be played at Santos National Football Stadium in Port Moresby, on Saturday, September 23.

Cherry-Evans, who has been named vice-captain behind South Sydney's Cameron Murray, last represented the PM XIII team in 2018.

Trbojevic has previously represented the PM XIII team in 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, and 2019.

The Men’s Prime Minister’s XIII will include eight representatives from the 2022 World Cup winning Kangaroos squad, for the first Prime Minister’s XIII encounter in PNG since 2018.

“Being Prime Minister is a great honour. I enjoy every part of the job, but a fun part is getting to pick the PM’s XIII sides,” said the Hon Anthony Albanese.

“These contests represent far more than just a couple of games of footy. Papua New Guinea and Australia are the closest of neighbours and we are the best of friends. We are working together to build a more prosperous, stable and peaceful region. Rugby League is an opportunity to celebrate our friendship and strengthen our partnership"

ARLC Chairman Peter V’landys AM congratulated all players on their selection in a special team.

“These players have performed exceptionally well throughout the season and have earned the chance to wear the Green and Gold for Australia,” Mr V’landys said.

“I congratulate the players selected for both teams as to represent your country is the ultimate achievement. It’s also an inspiration for fans in Australia and of course the fans in PNG, where Rugby League means so much.”

Australian Men’s PM’s XIII Coach Mal Meninga said the match would provide a selection guide ahead of the first ever Pacific Championships, across October and November.

“This squad is a blend of experience from the World Cup last year, additional State of Origin players from this year, as well as younger players who we would like to see at this level,” Meninga said.

“There was fairly unanimous agreement across the selections and I can’t wait to see this group test themselves in the green and gold.”

The PM’s XIII concept is aimed at using rugby league to drive social awareness messages. This year’s event will also see the introduction of the Australian school boys and girls taking on our Junior Kumuls and Orchids respectively, with support from the Australian Government, through the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, and the NRL.

2023 Australian Men’s Prime Minister’s XIII (alphabetical order)

Josh Addo-Carr (Bulldogs)

Daly Cherry-Evans (VC, Sea Eagles)

Reuben Cotter (Cowboys)

Tom Dearden (Cowboys)

Tino Fa’asuamaleaui (Titans)

Emre Guler (Raiders)

Ben Hunt (Dragons)

Nicho Hynes (Sharks)

Alofiana Khan-Pereira (Titans)

Zac Lomax (Dragons)

Cameron McInnes  (Sharks)

Cameron Murray (Rabbitohs)

Reece Robson (Cowboys)

Tyrell Sloan (Dragons)

Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow (Dolphins)

Murray Taulagi (Cowboys)

Jake Trbojevic (Sea Eagles)

Cody Walker (Rabbitohs)

Hudson Young (Raiders)

Manly's PM XIII Rep Honours

2006: Brett Stewart, Matt Orford

2009: Michael Robertson, David Williams, Glenn Stewart, George Rose

2010: Tony Williams, Chris Bailey

2014: Brenton Lawrence

2015: Jake Trbojevic, Tom Symonds

2016: Jake Trbojevic

2017: Tom Trbojevic, Api Koroisau, Jake Trbojevic, Dylan Walker

2018: Brian Kelly, Daly Cherry-Evans, Jake Trbojevic

2019: Brad Parker, Jake Trbojevic, Reuben Garrick


Acknowledgement of Country

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Senior Partners

View All Partners