You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Sea Eagles win eighth premiership in 2011

Eleven years ago today, the Manly Warringah Sea Eagles took out the 2011 Telstra Premiership.

Under the coaching of Des Hasler and the captaincy of Jamie Lyon, the Sea Eagles beat the NZ Warriors 24-10 at ANZ Stadium on October 2 in front of a crowd of 81,988.

It was a second premiership in three years for Brett Stewart, Michael Robertson, Jamie Lyon, Steve Matai, Matt Ballin, Brent Kite, Anthony Watmough, Glenn Stewart, and a second for Coach Des Hasler after their success in 2008.

The 2011 premiership was Manly's eighth title following grand final success in  1972, 1973, 1976, 1978, 1987, 1996 and 2008.


Manly Sea Eagles

1 Brett Stewart, 2 Michael Robertson, 3 Jamie Lyon (c), 4 Steve Matai, 5 Will Hopoate, 6 Kieran Foran, 7 Daly Cherry-Evans, 8 Joe Galuvao, 9 Matt Ballin, 10 Brent Kite, 11 Anthony Watmough, 12 Tony Williams, 13 Glenn Stewart; interchange: 14 Shane Rodney, 15 Jamie Buhrer, 16 Vic Mauro, 17 George Rose. Coach Des Hasler

Full Match Replay: Sea Eagles v Warriors - Grand Final, 2011

Sign up for a free NRL Account to access this video and other exclusive content.

Sign Up

Already have an NRL Account?

Log In

Not sure?   Learn more about an NRL Account .


1 Kevin Locke, 2 Bill Tupou, 3 Lewis Brown, 4 Krisnan Inu, 5 Manu Vatuvei, 6 James Maloney, 7 Shaun Johnson, 15 Russell Packer, 14 Lance Hohaia, 10 Jacob Lillyman, 17 Elijah Taylor, 12 Simon Mannering (c), 13 Micheal Luck, interchange: 8 Sam Rapira, 9 Aaron Heremaia 11 Feleti Mateo, 16 Ben Matulino. Coach: Ivan Cleary.

Match Details

Sea Eagles 24 (B Stewart, Cherry-Evans, G Stewart, Lyon tries; Lyon 3, Robertson goals) d Warriors 10 (Vatuvei, Taylor tries; Maloney goal). Referee: Tony Archer, Matt Cecchin, Crowd: 81, 988. Clive Churchill Medal: Glenn Stewart.

2011 Manly season summary

Coach: Des Hasler

Captains: Jamie Lyon (25) Jason King (16) Brett Stewart (1)

Biggest home crowd: 20,414 vs Melbourne, Rd 25

Average home crowd: 13,121:

Top pointscorer: Jamie Lyon (154)

Top tryscorer: Brett Stewart (19)

Acknowledgement of Country

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Senior Partners

View All Partners