You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Shelley O'Malley creates Sea Eagles history

Shelley O’Malley created her own little piece of club history at the Manly Warringah Sea Eagles Presentation night last week.

O’Malley, the Club’s Event and Operations Manager, became the first female in Manly’s proud history to win the Doug Daley Memorial Club Person of the Year award.

Doug Daley was a great Manly man who played seven seasons for the Sea Eagles in the second-row. He had a long and distinguished career at Manly and held the position of CEO for seven years.

First presented in 1994, the Doug Daley Club Person of the Year is awarded to an NRL Player, Staff member or Volunteer who displays the following attributes:

- Is a positive role model/mentor for the team, their staff, the club and its community

- Encompasses a team culture to the work environment

- Displays the core values of integrity, respect and professionalism on and off-field, or in their professional field.

- Continues to strive in their own excellence, growth and learning.

In receiving her award, host Matt White stated “Shelley embraces the Club's core values  in displaying integrity, accountability and authenticity in everything she puts her hand to, and always with a smile.”

O’Malley was taken aback by her shock win, with Manly staff keeping her victory as a complete surprise as she worked behind the scenes to ensure the presentation night at The Star Sydney was another great success.

A popular winner, O'Malley now joins Glenn 'Gino' Moore (Wellbeing and Careers) and Rod Valdes (Financial Manager) as current Sea Eagles administration staff to have won the award.

Doug Daley Memorial Club Person of the Year Award

1994: Owen Cunningham, 1995: Cliff Lyons, 1996: Des Hasler, 1997: Geoff Toovey, 1998: Craig Hancock, 1999: Steve Menzies, 2000: Warwick Bulmer, 2001: not awarded, 2002: Steve Menzies, 2003: Chad Randall, 2004: Albert Torrens, 2005: Luke Williamson, 2006: Chris Hicks, 2007: Michael Monaghan, 2008: Mark Bryant, 2009: Greg Alexander, 2010: George Rose, 2011: Michael Robertson, 2012: Joe Galuvao, 2013: Brett Stewart, 2014: Brenton Lawrence, 2015: Josh Starling, 2016: Brenton Lawrence, 2017: Jake Trbojevic, 2018: Joel Thompson, 2019: Glenn Moore, 2020: Rod Valdes, 2021: Toafofoa Sipley, 2022: Shelley O'Malley


Acknowledgement of Country

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Senior Partners

View All Partners