You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Flashback: Sea Eagles win 1996 Premiership

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles are proud to celebrate the feats of our 1996 premiership winning team in our 75th year anniversary in 2021.

Today - September 29 - marks 25 years to the day since the Sea Eagles won the 1996 premiership under Coach Bob Fulton.

Led by Captain Geoff Toovey, the Sea Eagles beat the St George Dragons 20-8 at the old Sydney Football Stadium.

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles

1 Matthew Ridge 2 Danny Moore 3 Craig Innes 4 Terry Hill 5 John Hopoate 13 Nik Kosef 7 Geoff Toovey (c) 17 David Gillespie 9 Jim Serdaris 10 Mark Carroll 11 Steve Menzies 12 Daniel Gartner 8 Owen Cunningham, Bench: 6 Cliff Lyons 14 Neil Tierney 16 Des Hasler 19 Craig Hancock, Coach Bob Fulton.

St George Dragons

1 Dean Raper 2 Nick Zisti 3 Mark Coyne (c) 5 Adrian Brunker 4 Mark Bell 6 Anthony Mundine 7 Noel Goldthorpe 8 Troy Stone 9 Jeff Hardy 10 Luke Felsch 19 Kevin Campion 12 Scott Gourley 13 Wayne Bartrim, Bench: 11 David Barnhill 14 Lance Thompson 15 Colin Ward 16 Nathan Brown, Coach David Waite

Match Details

Sea Eagles 20 (Innes, Menzies, Moore tries; Ridge 3/3, Innes 1/1 goals) d Dragons 8 (Zisti try; Bartrim 2/2) goals). Half-time: Manly 14-2. Sydney Cricket Ground, Sunday, September 29, 1996, Referee David Manson; Crowd: 40, 985.

Acknowledgement of Country

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Senior Partners

View All Partners