You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The Manly Warringah Sea Eagles are proud to celebrate the feats of our 1972 premiership winning team in our 75th year anniversary in 2021.

Today, September 16, marks 49 years since the Sea Eagles claimed their inaugural NSWRL first grade premiership title.

The Sea Eagles recorded a 19-14 victory over the Eastern Suburbs Roosters under Coach Ron Willey and the captaincy of Fred Jones.

It was Manly's sixth attempt at winning a premiership and came 25 years after entering the NSWRL competition in 1947.

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles 

1 Graham Eadie,  2 Ken Irvine, 3 Ray Branighan, 4 Bob Fulton, 5 Max Brown, 6 Ian Martin, 7 Dennis Ward, 8 Bill Hamilton, 9 Fred Jones (c), 10 John O’Neill, 11 Allan Thomson, 12 Terry Randall, 13 Malcolm Reilly. Coach: Ron Willey

Eastern Suburbs Roosters

1 Allan McKean, 2 Jim Porter, 3 Harry Cameron, 4 Mark Harris, 5 Bill Mullins, 6 John Ballesty, 7 Kevin Junee, 8 John Armstrong, 9 Peter Moscatt, 10 Arthur Beetson, 15 Greg Bandiera, 12 John Quayle, 13 Ron Coote (c), bench 16 Laurie Freier. Coach: Don Furner

Match Details

Sea Eagles 19 (Jones, Branighan tries; Branighan 6 goals; Fulton field goal) d Roosters 14 (Ballesty, Mullins tries;  McKean 4 goals), Sydney Cricket Ground, 16 September 1972. Referee: Keith Page. Crowd: 54,357.


Acknowledgement of Country

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Senior Partners

View All Partners