You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
On The Record: Sea Eagles wins at GIO Stadium

The Manly Warringah Sea Eagles and the Canberra Raiders were set to lock horns this Friday night at GIO Stadium in another chapter of an exciting rivalry.

Manly has won 10 of the 17 matches played at GIO Stadium (formerly known as Bruce Stadium) since the first game between the clubs there in 1991.

With the NRL season suspended, it’s time to look at Manly's great winning history at GIO Stadium. It's a ground that holds no fear for the Sea Eagles.

Manly at GIO Stadium

Rd 6, 1991

Three players scored six tries between them in the 46-12 win in Manly’s first game at the Raiders' new home ground.

Matthew Ridge, Michael O’Connor, and David Ronson scored two tries each for Manly. Ridge had a golden day with the boot, kicking nine from nine for a personal tally of 26 points.

Rd 17, 1992

Ridge was the difference in the 15-14 win on a cold Saturday night in July.

With both teams scoring two tries each, Ridge landed three goals from three attempts as well as the match-winning field goal.

Rd 10, 1995

The Sea Eagles made it 10 straight wins with a 16-8 victory over the Raiders on a Sunday afternoon in May.

Powerful winger John Hopoate scored all three of Manly’s tries with Ridge kicking two goals.

History shows the Sea Eagles went on to win 15 straight games that season, setting a current club record for the longest winning streak. 

Rd 26, 2005

Manly ended a three game losing streak to beat Canberra 36-18 in the final round of the season.

Sam Harris, Chris Hicks, Steve Matai, Steve Menzies, Michael Monaghan, and Anthony Watmough crossed for tries with second-rower Luke Williamson kicking six from eight goals.

Unfortunately, the Sea Eagles’ season ended a week later with a 46-22 loss to Parramatta in the qualifying final at Parramatta Stadium.

Rd 8, 2007

It was a case of you score, we score, on a Sunday afternoon in May.

A hat-trick of tries to winger Michael Robertson saw the Sea Eagles take the two competition points with a 46-30 win.

Matt Ballin, Steve Bell, Michael Monaghan, Brett Stewart, and Anthony Watmough were Manly’s tryscorers. Jamie Lyon landed six goals from seven attempts.

It was Manly’s seventh win from eight games.

Rd 12, 2008

The sending off of prop Adam Cuthbertson for a high tackle was not enough to stop the Sea Eagles in their 31-18 win.

The Sea Eagles ran in five tries to three through Matt Ballin, Steve Menzies, Steve Matai, Michael Robertson and Anthony Watmough. Manly half-back and captain Matt Orford kicked five goals and a field goal.

The win over the Raiders was the start of a seven game winning streak in what became a premiership winning year for Manly, culminating in the famous 40-0 Grand Final victory over the Melbourne Storm.

Rd 24, 2013

A 20 point haul from Manly captain Jamie Lyon was the highlight in the 36-22 win over the Raiders on a Sunday afternoon at Bruce Stadium.

Lyon bagged two tries and had a perfect goal-kicking record of six from six with the boot.

Jamie Buhrer, Peta Hiku, Jorge Taufua, and Anthony Watmough also scored four pointers.

Rd 23, 2015

It was the ‘Killer’ and ‘Snake’ show on this Sunday afternoon in August.

Lyon and full-back Brett Stewart scored a double each. Lyon also kicked three goals in Manly’s gripping 26-24 win.

Steve Matai also crossed in what was Manly's fourth straight win.

Rd 8, 2017

Manly centre Dylan Walker became public enemy number one in a fiery match at Canberra Stadium in April.

Walker missed two easy shots at goal late in the game that would have sealed victory for the Sea Eagles.

However, Walker quickly became an instant hero amongst Sea Eagles supporters when he landed a 40 metre penalty goal in golden point extra-time to give Manly a heart-stopping 20-18 win.

Rd 7, 2019

It was another gripping contest to the very end with the Sea Eagles claiming an 18-14 win.

Winger Reuben Garrick scored 14 of Manly’s points through a try and a perfect goal-kicking record of five from five.

Jake Trbojevic also crossed for the Sea Eagles while prop Morgan Boyle was sin-binned twice in front of a crowd of over 20,000.

Head to Head overall

Games: 59 - Manly 35, Canberra 21, Drawn 3

Join our Great Club

Did you enjoy the flashbacks of our wonderful history? Why not become a part of our Club by becoming a 2020 Member. Check out the packages here 



Acknowledgement of Country

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Senior Partners

View All Partners