You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Blacktown Workers go down to Jets in trial

Blacktown Workers Sea Eagles lost 26-20 to Newtown Jets at Henson Park today in a Canterbury Cup trial.

The Sea Eagles opened the scoring in the 12th minute when winger Pio Nakubwia dived over in the left corner to finish off a nice backline play. Half-back Alex Seve failed to convert the try from the sideline.

A quick tap from hooker Joey Tramointana saw Michael Tupou crash over from close range in the 19th minute. Seve converted for a 10-0 lead.

The Sea Eagles went to a 14-0 lead in the 22nd minute when second-rower Tyler Cassel burrowed his way over the line. Seve missed the conversion attempt from out wide.

Cassel almost grabbed a double inside the final minute before half-time but failed to ground the ball cleanly in-goal from a grubber kick for a 14-0 lead at the break.

Six minutes after half-time, the Jets got on the board when prop Wes Lolo crashed over next to the posts. Centre Addison Demetriou converted for a 14-6 scoreline.

A charging run and sheer strength by forward Denzel Tonise saw him score next to the posts. Seve converted for a 20-6 lead with 24 minutes remaining.

A minute later, Lolo fumbled the ball in-goal in trying to ground it from a grubber kick.

The Jets hit back when forward Monty Raper pounced on a grubber kick to score next to the posts. Jonah Ngaronoa converted the try to leave Newtown trailing 20-12 with 17 minutes remaining.

Newtown were in again seven minutes later when Brock Gray crashed over out wide for a 20-16 scoreline.

The Jets drew level when Henry Patterson raced away to score under the posts. Ngaronoa converted to give the Jets a 22-20 lead with three minutes remaining.

Newtown secured victory when winger Lorenzo Mulitalo scored in the right corner inside the final minute for the 26-20 scoreline.

Sea Eagles team

1 Blake Clayton, 2 Pio Nakubuwia, 3 Semisi Kioa, 4 Ronny Palumbo, 5 Kenneth Koro, 22 Michael Tupou, 7 Alex Seve, 8 Ben Nakubuwia,23 Joey Tramointana, 10 Andy Saunders, 11 Tyler Cassel, 12 Samuel Radovuv, 13 Mitchell Butfield; interchange 14 Brodie Christopheron, 15 Matthew Hammond, 16 FJ Mauala,17 Jack Hayson, 18 Topiese Taufa, 19 Tyran Ott, 24 Denzel Tonise

Photos: Jordon Ovington