You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles half-back and captain Daly Cherry-Evans has tonight taken home the Roy Bull ‘Best and Fairest’ Award for 2017.

Cherry-Evans has been outstanding this season in leading the Sea Eagles to the finals for the first time since 2014.

The brilliant number seven played in all 24 matches of the regular season. His superb kicking game, attacking play, leadership, and ability to kick field goals under pressure on either foot, saw him win several games for the Sea Eagles.

The award, named after Roy Bull – the Sea Eagles’ first international player who went on to play 22 Tests for Australia and 177 games at prop for Manly – was presented to Cherry-Evans by Coach Trent Barrett at the Sea Eagles presentation night at Dee Why RSL Club.

For the second consecutive season, lock and vice-captain Jake Trbojevic won the NRL Players’ Player award.

Jake played 23 matches in 2017 for the Sea Eagles after also representing NSW Blues in all three Origin games.

Furthermore, Jake also won the Doug Daley Clubman of the Year award.

And just like 2016, Manly Warringah Sea Eagles Members voted Jake as the winner of their Gordon Willoughby Medal.

Centre Brian Kelly took home the NRL Ken Arthurson Rookie of the Year award. In his first season in the NRL, the 21-year-old Kelly played 22 games, scored 8 tries, and earnt himself a Country Origin jersey.

Talented hooker Manase Fainu won the ‘Russ Bull’ Holden Cup award for Best and Fairest while  lock and captain Jesse Martin won the Holden Cup Players’ Player award.

Eli Naylor and Michael Dinoris, better known as Sea Eagles mascots Ellie and Egor, received the Steve Menzies Medallion for a volunteer or employee who has gone above and beyond their Club duties.

2017 Club Award winners

NRL Roy Bull ‘Best and Fairest’: Daly Cherry-Evans

NRL Players’ Player: Jake Trbojevic

NRL Leading Try Scorer:  Akuila Uate (14 tries)

NRL Leading Point scorer: Dylan Walker (104 points)

NRL Ken Arthurson Rookie of the Year: Brian Kelly

NRL Gordon Willoughby Medal: Jake Trbojevic

Doug Daley Clubman of the Year: Jake Trbojevic

Intrust Super Premiership Bob Batty ‘Best and Fairest’: Cameron Cullen

Intrust Super Premiership Players’ Player: Brendan Attwood, Cameron Cullen

Holden Cup Russ Bull ‘Best and Fairest’: Manase Fainu

Holden Cup Players’ Player:  Jesse Martin

NRL Steve Menzies Medallion: Eli Naylor, Michael Dinoris


Acknowledgement of Country

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Senior Partners

View All Partners