You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Competition - NRL Premiership - Play NRL Round

Round - Round 03

Teams – Manly Sea Eagles v Cronulla Sharks

Date – 21st or March 2016

Venue – Brookvale Oval, Manly Sydney, NSW

Photographer – Grant Trouville

Description – #WET #Rain #mud

Winners...Captain Jamie Lyon received the Steve Rogers Memorial Trophy from Manly legend Max Krilich after the win over Cronulla at Brookvale Oval in round 3. Photo: NRL Photos.

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles and Cronulla Sutherland Sharks will play for the Steve Rogers Memorial Trophy at Southern Cross Group Stadium on Saturday night at 7.30pm.

Rogers was an Immortal of the Cronulla Sharks, having played 202 first grade games. He  represented NSW 21 times and Australia 24 times. Rogers had many good friends at the Sea Eagles in Bob Fulton, Max Krilich and Paul McCabe through the Kangaroos tours.

The Steve Rogers Memorial Trophy was first played in March 2006 and previously had been played for each time the teams met up until the end of the 2010 season.

In recent times, the trophy had only been contested just once a season at the current holders’ home ground should both clubs be drawn to play each other twice.

With the Sharks planning a tribute night to Rogers this Saturday night to mark 10 years since his passing in 2006, Manly and Cronulla agreed last week to return to the original format of playing for the trophy each time they meet.

The Sea Eagles currently hold the trophy following a 22-12 win over the Sharks at Brookvale Oval in round three.

Steve Rogers Memorial Trophy history

2016: Rd 3 Manly 22 d Cronulla 12.

2015: Rd 26 Manly 14 d Cronulla 12; Rd 17 Manly 28 d Cronulla 16.

2014: Rd 15 Manly 26 d Cronulla 0

2013: Rd 6 Manly 25 d Cronulla 18

2012: Rd 3 Cronulla 17 d Manly 14

2011: Rd 5 Manly 19 d Cronulla 13

2010: Rd 5 Manly 40 d Cronulla 12, Rd 19 Manly 48 d Cronulla 18

2009: Rd 19 Manly 32 d Cronulla 26, Rd 25 Manly 18 d Cronulla 16

2008: Rd 1 Cronulla 16 d Manly 10, Rd 18 Manly 34 d Cronulla 6

2007: NRL Trial: Manly 29 d Cronulla 22, Rd 19 Manly 29 d Cronulla 22

2006: Rd 3 Manly 20 d Cronulla 18, Rd 15 Cronulla 15 d Manly 12