You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Rugby league historian David Middleton has named his best ever Manly Warringah Sea Eagles team as part of the ‘1500 game’ milestone celebrations.

Middleton is the official historian for rugby league records and is heavily respected in the game. He works for Channel Nine in their league broadcasts and runs League Information Services.

This is the final instalment of the ‘best ever’ 1500 team and the club thanks all those Sea Eagles’ Members and supporters who have joined in the great debate banter.

Here is Middleton’s team

Graham Eadie

Ken Irvine

Bob Fulton

Jamie Lyon

Michael O’Connor

Cliff Lyons

Geoff Toovey

John O’Neill

Max Krilich (c)

Roy Bull

Terry Randall

Steve Menzies

Malcolm Reilly


Paul Vautin

Des Hasler

Alan Thompson

Brett Stewart

Coach: Bob Fulton

Do you agree with the team? Post your views on these channels below

Facebook: Manly Warringah Sea Eagles

Twitter: @SeaEagles

Instagram: @manlyseaeagles

The mighty Sea Eagles have played 1499 first grade premiership matches and have won 8 premierships since their inception into the then NSWRL competition in 1947.

The current record stands at 868 wins, 595 losses, 36 draws. (This does not include matches as the Northern Eagles). The 1500th game will be played tonight against the Cowboys.







Acknowledgement of Country

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Senior Partners

View All Partners