You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Daly Cherry-Evans and Jake Trbojevic named in Kangaroos squad

Daly Cherry-Evans and Jake Trbojevic have been selected in the 2023 Pacific Championships squad.

Australia will play its first game of the Pacific Championships against Samoa in Townsville on October 14 before taking on New Zealand in Melbourne on October 28. The final of the tournament will be played the following week in Hamilton.

Cherry-Evans has played 18 Tests for Australia since making his Test debut against Wales in the Four Nations tournament in 2011.

He has scored five tries and kicked three goals for 26 points for Australia. He has won 14 of his 26 matches with Australia.

His last appearance for the Kangaroos was in the 2022 World Cup quarter-finals against Lebanon in England last November.

Trbojevic has played 12 games for Australia after making his Test debut against Scotland in the 2016 Four Nations tournament.

With two tries to his name, Trbojevic has won 10 of his 12 matches with the Kangaroos.

His last appearance was in the 2022 World Cup final win over Samoa.

Kangaroos coach Mal Meninga has named five debutants and eight grand finalists as part of a 21-man squad for the upcoming 2023 Pacific Championships which kicks off on October 14.

Rookie Broncos quartet Selwyn Cobbo, Payne Haas, Thomas Flegler and Kotoni Staggs have been named for their first Kangaroos campaign alongside teammate Patrick Carrigan, while three-time premiership-winners Nathan Cleary, Isaah Yeo and Liam Martin have once again been named in the squad.

The Panthers trio were all part of the Kangaroos' successful World Cup victory last November, with Meninga retaining 16 players in his Pacific Championships squad.

Dolphins fullback Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow, who played centre for Queensland in their Origin series win earlier this year, is the other debutant in the squad.

James Tedesco will once again captain the side alongside Roosters teammate Lindsay Collins, with Dragons captain Ben Hunt likely to split the hooking role with Storm rake Harry Grant as they did in last year's World Cup campaign.

Kangaroos squad

Josh Addo-Carr (Bulldogs)
Patrick Carrigan (Broncos)
Daly Cherry-Evans (Sea Eagles)
Nathan Cleary (Panthers)
Selwyn Cobbo* (Broncos)
Lindsay Collins (Roosters)
Reuben Cotter (Cowboys)
Tino Fa’asuamaleaui (Titans)
Thomas Flegler* (Broncos)
Harry Grant (Storm)
Payne Haas* (Broncos)
Valentine Holmes (Cowboys)
Ben Hunt (Dragons)
Liam Martin (Panthers)
Cameron Munster (Storm)
Cameron Murray (Rabbitohs)
Kotoni Staggs* (Broncos)
Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow* (Dolphins)
James Tedesco, capt. (Roosters)
Jake Trbojevic (Sea Eagles)
Isaah Yeo (Panthers)
* denotes debutant.

Acknowledgement of Country

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Senior Partners

View All Partners