You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Brailey added to squad as Fittler makes Game One 'gamble'

Cronulla hooker Blayke Brailey has joined the Blues Origin camp preparations as part of the extended squad for Game One.

With the Sharks on the bye in Round 13, Brailey joins the Blues camp in the lead-up to the series opener in Adelaide with coach Brad Fittler calling in the rake to provide some back-up and training competition to the lone hooker in Api Koroisau. 

Rabbitohs centre Campbell Graham has withdrawn from the New South Wales squad due to a sternum injury, with Stephen Crichton joining as 18th Man.

After initially being named on Monday morning, Graham withdrew later in the day due to the injury, which he has been playing through for a number of weeks with South Sydney. 

While disappointed, the 23-year-old centre, who has 12 tries in as many NRL games this year, said he doesn't expect it to be a long-term issue and wouldn't rule himself out of playing for the Rabbitohs in Round 13. 

"It's disappointing, but the good thing is I am pretty confident it will settle down over the next few weeks," Graham said.  

"It's one of those ones that has been niggling for a while, but unfortunately it's got a little bit worse this week.

"I'm pretty shattered, but it is what it is and I can take the positives out of the situation, knowing I am in the mix."

Fittler has named Tevita Pangai Junior and Hudson Young to start in their first game for New South Wales, while reigning Dally M Medal winner Nicho Hynes will debut off the bench. 

The decision to start Pangai Junior was arguably the biggest surprise to come out of the squad naming, with the Bulldogs prop having managed only six games this year due to a calf injury. 

"I've liked Tevita for a while and I can see that teams are intimidated by him," Fittler said. 

"At times he hasn't handled that well but I've always liked him, he's super talented and it was just a matter of him getting that next level of control and showing leadership.

"When I talk to people at Canterbury they say his preparation is excellent."

Meanwhile Fittler admitted the decision to select Tom Trbojevic, who will start alongside Latrell Mitchell in the centres, is a risk given his recent injury struggles, but one he believes is worthwhile. 

"You talk about gambles, you just have to gamble that Tommy is fit and ready," Fittler said. 

"Very rarely has he ever let us down, so I'd say we had him pencilled in with a very heavy lead pencil. He's a quality player and a quality person." 

Josh Addo-Carr returns to the Origin fold and will line up on the wing along with Brian To'o – one of five Panthers picked in the 17 for now, along with Jarome Luai, Nathan Cleary, Isaah Yeo and Liam Martin, all of whom were part of last year's 2-1 series loss.

Tyson Frizell will start in his first Origin game since 2020, while Wests Tigers captain Apisai Koroisau has won the battle for the hooker position over Rabbitohs rake Damien Cook.

Crichton and Wests Tigers prop Stefano Utoikamanu are listed as the 18th and 19th players. 

Team Lists


  • Fullback for Maroons is number 1 Reece Walsh
    Fullback for Blues is number 1 James Tedesco
  • Winger for Maroons is number 2 Selwyn Cobbo
    Winger for Blues is number 2 Brian To'o
  • Centre for Maroons is number 3 Valentine Holmes
    Centre for Blues is number 3 Stephen Crichton
  • Centre for Maroons is number 4 Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow
    Centre for Blues is number 4 Tom Trbojevic
  • Winger for Maroons is number 5 Murray Taulagi
    Winger for Blues is number 5 Josh Addo-Carr
  • Five-Eighth for Maroons is number 6 Cameron Munster
    Five-Eighth for Blues is number 6 Jarome Luai
  • Halfback for Maroons is number 7 Daly Cherry-Evans
    Halfback for Blues is number 7 Nathan Cleary


  • Prop for Maroons is number 15 Tino Fa'asuamaleaui
    Prop for Blues is number 8 Tevita Pangai Junior
  • Hooker for Maroons is number 9 Ben Hunt
    Hooker for Blues is number 9 Apisai Koroisau
  • Prop for Maroons is number 16 Reuben Cotter
    Prop for Blues is number 10 Payne Haas
  • 2nd Row for Maroons is number 11 David Fifita
    2nd Row for Blues is number 11 Tyson Frizell
  • 2nd Row for Maroons is number 12 Tom Gilbert
    2nd Row for Blues is number 12 Hudson Young
  • Lock for Maroons is number 13 Patrick Carrigan
    Lock for Blues is number 13 Isaah Yeo


  • Interchange for Maroons is number 8 Thomas Flegler
    Interchange for Blues is number 14 Junior Paulo
  • Interchange for Maroons is number 10 Lindsay Collins
    Interchange for Blues is number 15 Cameron Murray
  • Interchange for Maroons is number 14 Harry Grant
    Interchange for Blues is number 16 Liam Martin
  • Interchange for Maroons is number 17 Jai Arrow
    Interchange for Blues is number 17 Nicholas Hynes


  • Replacement for Maroons is number 18 Tom Dearden
    Replacement for Blues is number 20 Matt Burton

Match Officials

  • Referee: Ashley Klein
  • Touch Judge: Drew Oultram
  • Touch Judge: Phil Henderson
  • Senior Review Official: Grant Atkins

Last updated:

Acknowledgement of Country

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Senior Partners

View All Partners