You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Daly Cherry-Evans named in Prime Minister’s XIII squad

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles captain and half-back Daly Cherry-Evans has been named in the Prime Minister’s XIII squad.

The Australian Rugby League Commission has announced the Australian Men’s Prime Minister’s XIII squad to take on a PNG PM’s XIII team at Suncorp Stadium on Sunday, September 25.

“The Commission is thrilled to have the PM’s XIII match in Australia for the first time especially ahead of the much anticipated World Cup,'' said ARLC Chairman Peter V’landys AM.

"The relationship between Australia and PNG is so important to all of us. Both countries have in common a passion for rugby league and I’m looking forward to seeing some of the emerging players alongside the experienced stars on the international stage.”

Australian Men’s PM’s XIII Coach Mal Meninga said the match would be a vital selection guide ahead of the World Cup, which starts in October.

“I’m very pleased with the squad we have assembled,” Meninga said.

“We have a mix of youth and experience. We have players who have represented the Kangaroos before, along with others who I am looking forward to seeing for the first time at this level.

“This will be an important match for us in the lead-up to the World Cup and I’m eager to see what all these players are able to achieve on this stage.”

The men’s and women’s PM’s XIII teams will face off against their PNG counterparts as part of a Suncorp Stadium “Footy Fest” which also features the semi finals of the NRL Telstra Women’s Premiership.

Tickets for the quadruple header start at $20 for adults and $40 for families for all four matches, via Juniors can also redeem a free ticket per paying adult in Categories 2 and 3.

All matches will be broadcast on the Nine Network and Fox Sports.

The PM’s XIII matches will be broadcast on GEM – representing the first time the PM’s XIII matches have been broadcast on free-to-air television in Australia.

The PM’s XIII matches have been made possible thanks to the support of the Federal Government, through the PacificAus Sports program. The program will support the PNG’s Prime Ministers XIII teams to play in Australia.

2022 Australian Men’s Prime Minister’s XIII 

1 Daine Laurie

2 Josh Addo-Carr

3 Selwyn Cobbo

4 Zac Lomax

5 Jojo Fifita

6 Matt Burton

7 Daly Cherry-Evans

8 Tino Fa'asuamaleaui

9 Ben Hunt

10 Thomas Flegler

11 Nat Butcher

12 Angus Crichton

13 Josh King

14 Max King

15 Beau Fermor

16 Jake Simpkin

17 Luke Garner

18 Josh Curran

19 Jake Averillo

20 Sam Walker


Acknowledgement of Country

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Senior Partners

View All Partners