You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles are proud to celebrate the feats of our 1987 premiership winning team in our 75th year anniversary in 2021.

Today - September 27 - marks 34 years to the day since the Sea Eagles won the 1987 premiership under Coach Bob Fulton.

Captained by Paul Vautin, the Sea Eagles beat Canberra Raiders 18 - 8 in the last rugby league grand final played at the historic Sydney Cricket Ground.


Manly dominated the 1987 season to finish minor premiers with the Sea Eagles recording a 12 game winning streak from rounds 9 to 21.

The Sea Eagles then beat Eastern Suburbs Roosters 10-6 in the major semi-final before overcoming the Raiders to win the Club’s fifth first grade premiership after tasting success in 1972, 1973, 1976, and 1978.

Since 1987, Manly have won first grade premierships in 1996, 2008, and 2011 to make it eight major titles.

1987 Grand Final

Manly team

1 Dale Shearer 2 David Ronson 3 Darrell Williams 4 Michael O’Connor 5 Stuart Davis 6 Cliff Lyons 7 Des Hasler 8 Paul Vautin (Captain) 9 Noel Cleal, 10 Ron Gibbs, 11 Kevin Ward, 12 Mal Cochrane 13 Phil Daley,  replacements: 20 Paul Shaw, 24 Mark Pocock. Coach: Bob Fulton

Canberra team

1 Gary Belcher 2 Chris Kinna 3 Peter Jackson 4 Mal Meninga 5 Matthew Corkery 6 Chris O’Sullivan 7 Ivan Henjak 8 Dean Lance (Captain), 9 Ashley Gilbert 10 Gary Coyne 11 Sam Backo, 12 Steve Walters 13 Brent Todd, 14 Kevin Walters, 15 Terry Regan. Coach: Wayne Bennett, Don Furner.

Match Details

Manly Sea Eagles 18 (Tries: Lyons, O'Connor. Goals: O'Connor 5/5) d Canberra Raiders 8 (Tries: O'Sullivan. Goals: Meninga 1/1, Belcher 1/1). Clive Churchill Medal Winner: Cliff Lyons. Referee: Mick Stone. Crowd: 50,201