You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
On This Day: Sea Eagles claim 2008 premiership

Today - October 5 - marks 12 years to the day since the Manly Warringah Sea Eagles won the 2008 premiership.

Under the coaching of Des Hasler and the captaincy of Matt Orford, the Sea Eagles crushed the Melbourne Storm 40-0 at ANZ Stadium in front of a crowd of 80, 388.

The Sea Eagles ran in an incredible eight tries to record the highest rugby league Grand Final margin in Australian history. It was Manly's seventh premiership title.


1 Brett Stewart, 2 Michael Robertson, 3 Steven Bell, 4 Steve Matai, 5 David Williams, 6 Jamie Lyon, 7 Matt Orford (c), 8 Brent Kite, 9 Matt Ballin, 10 Josh Perry, 11 Anthony Watmough, 12 Glen Hall, 13 Glenn Stewart; interchange 14 Heath L'Estrange, 15 Mark Bryant, 16 Jason King, 17 Steve Menzies. Coach: Des Hasler.

Full Match Replay: Sea Eagles v Storm - Grand Final, 2008

Sign up for a free NRL Account to access this video and other exclusive content.

Sign Up

Already have an NRL Account?

Log In

Not sure?   Learn more about an NRL Account .

Melbourne Storm

1 Billy Slater, 2 Steve Turner, 3 Matt Geyer, 4 Israel Folau, 5 Anthony Quinn, 6 Greg Inglis, 7 Cooper Cronk (c), 8 Jeff Lima, 9 Russ Aitken, 10 Brett White, 11 Michael Crocker, 12 Jeremy Smith, 13 Dallas Johnson; interchange: 14 Scott Anderson, 15 Adam Blair, 16 Sika Manu, 17 Antonio Kaufusi. Coach: Craig Bellamy.

Match Details

Sea Eagles 40 (Robertson 3, Ballin, Williams, Kite, Menzies, Bell tries; Matai 2, Lyon 2 goals) d Storm 0. Referee Tony Archer, ANZ Stadium, October 5, 2008. Clive Churchill Medal: Brent Kite.



Acknowledgement of Country

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Senior Partners

View All Partners