You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Sea Eagles hold awards presentation at Lottoland

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles wrapped up a very challenging 2020 season with an intimate awards presentation at Lottoland today.

Normally held as a gala awards evening at The Star, due to COVID safe measures, this year’s event took placed as an informal breakfast presentation inside the Shaw and Partners Chairman’s Club at Lottoland.

The Club decided to hold back the prestigious Roy Bull ‘Best and Fairest’ Award, the Players’ Player award and the Doug Daley Clubman of the Year at the Sea Eagles 2021 Season Launch with a view towards having our loyal corporate partners and members in attendance.

Promising young back Tevita Funa (below) was a popular winner of the Rookie of the Year award. Funa scored five tries in 12 games after making his NRL debut against Brisbane in June.

Winger Reuben Garrick claimed the Leading Point Scorer Award for the second consecutive year while experienced winger Jorge Taufua took home the Leading Try Scorer Award with seven tries in 14 games.

Hard-working backrower Curtis Sironen (below) won the Steve Menzies Medal for the Play of the Year for his game saving tackle against the Canberra Raiders at Campbelltown Stadium in round six.

Prop Toafofoa Sipley was also honoured after being named in the NRL Academic team of the year for his completion of a Bachelor degree that now sees him as a qualified secondary school PE teacher.

The Sea Eagles also acknowledged the services of several players departing the club including Joel Thompson, Addin Fonua-Blake, Corey Waddell, Danny Levi, Brendan Elliot, Tony Williams, and Luke Metcalf. The Club thanks them for their efforts on and off the field.

Manly also acknowledged the hard work of Assistant Coach John Cartwright who departs the club after joining the Sea Eagles in 2016.

2020 Club Award winners

Rookie of the Year: Tevita Funa

Leading Pointscorer: Reuben Garrick

Leading Tryscorer: Jorge Taufua

Steve Menzies Medal (Play of the Year): Curtis Sironen.

NRL Academic Team of the Year: Toafofoa Sipley

Menzies Medal Winner: Curtis Sironen