You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Today marks 44 years since the Manly Warringah Sea Eagles won their third NSWRL first grade premiership.

Under the coaching of Frank Stanton and the captaincy of Bob Fulton, the Sea Eagles beat the Parramatta Eels 13-10 on September 18, 1976, at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles

1 Graham Eadie 2 Tom Mooney 3 Russel Gartner 4 Bob Fulton (c) 5 Rod Jackson 6 Alan Thompson, 7 Gary Stephens 8 John Harvey 9 Max Krilich 10 Terry Randall 11 Steve Norton 12 Phil Lowe 13 Ian Martin; bench 14 Gary Thoroughgood 17 Mark Willoughby, Coach Frank Stanton.

It was a justification of a decision I made to leave a secure job of 18 years to do the coaching

Manly Coach Frank Stanton

Parramatta Eels

1 Mark Levy 2 Jim Porter 3 Ed Sulkowicz 4 John Moran 5 Neville Glover 6 John Peard 7 John Kolc 8 Graeme Olling 9 Ron Hilditch 10 Denis Fitzgerald 11 Geoff Gerard 12 Ray Higgs (c), 13 Ray Price; bench 14 Graeme Atkins 15 John Baker, Coach Terry Fearnley

Full Match Replay: Sea Eagles v Eels - Grand Final, 1976

Sign up for a free NRL Account to access this video and other exclusive content.

Sign Up

Already have an NRL Account? Log In

Not sure? Learn more about an NRL Account.

Match Details

Sea Eagles 13 (Lowe try, Eadie 5/6 goals) d Eels 10 (Gerard, Porter tries; Peard 2/3 goals, Levy 0/1) at Sydney Cricket Ground, Saturday, September 18, 1976. Crowd: 57,343. Referee: Gary Cook.