You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Sea Eagles 1972 Premiership winning team

In the countdown to the NRL Grand Final, we are proud to showcase the Grand Final history of the mighty Manly Warringah Sea Eagles.

We hope you enjoy the first in the Grand Final series, starting with our first premiership win - the 1972 victory over the Eastern Suburbs Roosters.

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles 

1 Graham Eadie,  2 Ken Irvine, 3 Ray Branighan, 4 Bob Fulton, 5 Max Brown, 6 Ian Martin, 7 Dennis Ward, 8 Bill Hamilton, 9 Fred Jones (c), 10 John O’Neill, 11 Allan Thomson, 12 Terry Randall, 13 Malcolm Reilly. Coach: Ron Willey

Eastern Suburbs Roosters

1 Allan McKean, 2 Jim Porter, 3 Harry Cameron, 4 Mark Harris, 5 Bill Mullins, 6 John Ballesty, 7 Kevin Junee, 8 John Armstrong, 9 Peter Moscatt, 10 Arthur Beetson, 15 Greg Bandiera, 12 John Quayle, 13 Ron Coote (c), bench 16 Laurie Freier. Coach: Don Furner

Sea Eagles 1972 Premiership winning team
Sea Eagles 1972 Premiership winning team

Sea Eagles 19 (Jones, Branighan tries; Branighan 6 goals; Fulton field goal) d Roosters 14 (Ballesty, Mullins tries;  McKean 4 goals), Sydney Cricket Ground, 16 September 1972. Referee: Keith Page,. Crowd: 54,357.

Sea Eagles v Roosters - Grand Final, 1972

Sign up for a free NRL Account to access this video and other exclusive content.

Sign Up

Already have an NRL Account?

Log In

Not sure?   Learn more about an NRL Account .


Acknowledgement of Country

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Senior Partners

View All Partners