You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The Wright stuff...Matthew Wright makes a break in the loss to North Sydney Bears today. Photo: Bryden Sharp Photography.

Blacktown Workers Sea Eagles suffered a 40-20 loss to North Sydney Bears in round two of the Intrust Super Premiership NSW competition.

In humid conditions at H.E Laybutt Sporting Complex at Blacktown, the Sea Eagles were looking to build on their narrow round one loss to Newtown in their second consecutive home game.

The Sea Eagles opened the scoring when quick hands to the right from a scrum win saw winger Viliame Kaveinga cross in the corner. Joey Lussick failed to convert try for a 4-0 lead.

The Bears then piled on three unanswered tries in seven minutes to race to an 18-4 lead after 20 minutes through tries to hooker Bradley Deitz, half-back Eli Levido, and prop Tom Burgess. Levido converted all three tries.

Blacktown Workers Sea Eagles reduced the margin to eight when half-back Jackson Hastings took on the line to step past the defence to send Sarafu Fatiaki over next to the posts. Matthew Wright converted for an 18-10 scoreline.

The Bears then scored two minutes before half-time when centre Siosifa Talakai crashed past three defenders to score. Levido converted for a 24-10 lead at half-time.

Second Half

The Sea Eagles lost full-back Kyle Eather with a hip injury in the 44th minute.

North Sydney then produced three tries through five-eighth Sita Moceidrek, second-rower Cameron Murray and winger Ed Murphy for a 40- 10 lead after 66 minutes.

Two quick tries to Blacktown Workers Sea Eagles five-eighth Pita Godinet and Jono Wright saw the home side trail 40-20 with three minutes remaining.

Blacktown Workers Sea Eagles Intrust Super Premiership team

1 Kyle Eather

2 Viliame Kaveinga

3 Matthew Wright

4 Jonathan Wright

5 Peter Schuster

6 Pita Godinet

7 Jackson Hastings

8 Tom Amone

9 Joey Lussick

10 Jacob Samoa

11 Pat Mataele

12 Jamil Hopoate

13 Brendan Attwood (C)


14 Dean Parata

15 Jerry Key

16 Tyler Cassel

17 Nick Kassis

18 Sarafu Fatiaki

 North Sydney

1 Latrell Robinson

2 Dane Neilsen

3 Tyrell Fuimaono

18 Siosifa Talakai

6 Siti Moceidreke

19 Luke Kelly

7 Eli Levido

8 Tom Burgess

9 Bead Deitz

13 Antony Cherrington

17 Tautalatasi Tasi

12 Cameron Murray

20 Dave Tyrell


10 Toby Rudolph

15 Clayton Williams

16 Cheyne Whitelaw

5 Ed Murphy.

Acknowledgement of Country

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Senior Partners

View All Partners