You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Over he goes...Centre Brian Kelly scores the first try for Blacktown Workers Sea Eagles in the win over Wyong. Photo: Bryden Sharp Photography

Blacktown Workers Sea Eagles recorded an impressive 40-16 victory over Wyong Roos in an Intrust NSW Cup trial win at Central Coast Stadium today.

Fielding several players from the Sea Eagles NRL squad including the likes of Jackson Hastings, Brian Kelly, Shaun Lane, Cameron Cullen, and Pita Godnet, the Sea Eagles dominated the match from the start to finish in the wet conditions in a performance that would have pleased Coach Pat Weisner.

It might only be a trial match but the performance will give plenty of hope and excitement to the Blacktown Workers Sea Eagles team and their supporters.

Blacktown Workers opened the scoring in the eighth minute when five-eighth Cameron Cullen put through a short grubber kick on the last tackle for the ball to sit up perfectly for centre Brian Kelly to score.

Hooker Joey Lussick converted for a 6-0 lead after nine minutes.

Lussick extended the lead when he converted his own try from dummy half for a 12-0 scoreline before the Wyong Roos hit back with two soft tries neat near the posts to trail 12-10.

A cut out pass by full-back Pita Godinet sent winger Peter Schuster over in the left corner for a 16-10 lead. Lussick converted for an 18-10 lead. The score remained to half-time.

2nd Half

Jackson Hastings and Kelly were given a rest for the second half to prepare for the NRL game.

Giant second-rower Shaun Lane then pushed his way over the line. Lussick converted for a 24-10 lead after 48 minutes.

Three minutes later, a bit of quick thinking and magic from Cullen saw Schuster score his second try. Lussick converted for a 30-10 lead.

Lane then pushed the Sea Eagles further ahead with his second try, converted by Lussick for a 36-10 lead after 61 minutes.

Wyong scored a late converted consolation try for the 40-16 scoreline.

Blacktown Workers Sea Eagles team

1 Pita Godinet

2 Peter Schuster

3 Pat Mataele

4 Brian Kelly

5 Omar Slaimankhel

6 Cameron Cullen

7 Jackson Hastings

8 Tom Amone

9 Joey Lussick

10 Jake Samoa

11 Shaun Lane

12 Brendan Attwood (c)

13 Billy Bainbridge


14 Kyle Eather

15 Jamil Hopoate

16 Tyler Cassel

17 Viliame Kaveinga

19 Jerry Key

20 Nick Kassis

23 George Tskirikas

24 Andy Fiagatusa