You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
:  NYC Round 22, Manly v Souths, Brookvale Oval, Saturday 8th August 2009. Digital Image by Renee McKay © Action Photographics.

Manly Warringah will be looking to create a piece of their own Holden Cup history at ANZ Stadium this Sunday.

It will be the first time the Sea Eagles have made the U20s season decider since the inception of the National Youth Competition in 2008.

Season 2009 saw the then David Penna coached side finish as minor premiers before falling short.

Given the young talent they had they at their disposal, the Sea Eagles should have reached the Grand Final.

Players such as Kieran Foran, Daly Cherry-Evans (pictured), and Jared Waerea-Hargreaves would later go on to represent their countries, while the likes of William Hopoate and then captain Jamie Buhrer would wear their State colours.

Waerea-Hargreaves made his NRL debut for the Sea Eagles in round nine that season with Foran making his first grade debut in round 15.

Unfortunately for the Sea Eagles, their run ended with a 24-10 loss to Brisbane Broncos in the second week of the finals.

History shows just two minor premiers (Canberra, 2008) and NZ Warriors (2011) have gone on win the seven Grand Finals contested.

The Sea Eagles will play minor premiers Penrith Panthers in the Grand Final. Kick-off 1.35pm.

2009 Sea Eagles Holden Cup team vs Brisbane, week 2, finals

William Hopoate

Mitchell Porter

Matt Grieve

Josh Portlock

John Grey

Kieran Foran

Daly Cherry-Evans

Michael Tiopira

Liam Higgins

Lama Tasi

Jared Waerea-Hargreaves

Darcy Lussick

Jamie Buhrer (c)

Reserves: Gary Riccardi, Mitchell Jowett, Todd Wilson, Magnus Stromquist, Nathan Clark.

Coach: David Penna



Acknowledgement of Country

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Senior Partners

View All Partners