You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Brett Stewart celebrates his second try : Digital Image by Robb Cox © : : NRL Rugby League - Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles V Penrith Panthgers at Brookvale Oval, Monday May 18th 2015.

Daily Telegraph rugby league reporter Dean Ritchie has penned his best ever Manly Warringah Sea Eagles team as part of the ‘1500 game’ milestone celebrations.

Ritchie has covered the Sea Eagles’ fortunes for many years in his position as the game's number one reporter for News Limited and was asked to nominate his 1-17 team.

Here is his team

1 Graham Eadie/Brett Stewart (could not split them)

2 Ken Irvine

3 Michael O'Connor

4 Bob Fulton (c)

5 Tom Mooney

6 Cliff Lyons

7 Geoff Toovey

13 Mal Reilly

12 Steve Menzies

11 Terry Randall

10 John O'Neill

9 Max Krilich

8 Kevin Ward


Ian Roberts, Anthony Watmough, Des Hasler, Roy Bull, Paul Vautin (18th man)

Coach: Bob Fulton

Do you agree with Dean’s team? Post your views on these channels below

Facebook: Manly Warringah Sea Eagles

Twitter: @SeaEagles

Instagram: @manlyseaeagles

The mighty Sea Eagles have played 1499 first grade premiership matches and have won 8 premierships since their inception into the then NSWRL competition in 1947.

The current record stands at 868 wins, 595 losses, 36 draws. (This does not include matches as the Northern Eagles). The 1500th game will be played this Saturday night against the Cowboys.


Acknowledgement of Country

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Senior Partners

View All Partners