You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Warriors Tuimoala Lolohea looks to break out of the tackle from Sea Eagles Shaun Johnson:           NRL Auckland Nines, Game 13, Warriors v Sea Eagles at Eden Park, Saturday February 15th 2014. Digital image by Shane Wenzlick, copyright

The 2015 Dick Smith NRL Auckland Nines draw has today been revealed, with the Sea Eagles set kick off the weekend-long tournament against traditional rivals Parramatta.

The tournament is set to light up Auckland, with the likes of Daly Cherry-Evans and Jarryd Hayne set to go head to head in league’s freshest version.

The Sea Eagles are in the Rangitoto Pool, consisting of the Eels, Knights and Dragons. The matches will be televised live on Sky Television during the Nines broadcast.


Rangitoto Pool: Eels, Sea-Eagles, Knights, Dragons

Waiheke Pool: Storm, Cowboys, Panthers, Rabbitohs

Piha Pool: Roosters, Broncos, Bulldogs, Sharks 

Hunau Ranges Pool: Tigers, Warriors, Raiders, Titans

“The spirit of the Auckland Nines is to create an event that we can develop and grow and the decision to include the women’s teams was the next natural step,” NRL Football Operations Manager Nathan McGuirk said.

“Their inclusion creates more games and provides longer breaks for all teams participating as well as showcasing some of the best female players in the world.”

Lovers of Auckland from around the world were given the unique opportunity to play a part in the 2015 tournament by choosing names for each of the four pools, with the most popular choices being made the pool names.

The public’s choices showcase the diversity of the Auckland region’s most iconic visitor destinations.

The public’s choices were:

Rangitoto - the Island’s famed volcanic cone

Waiheke – the home of the nation’s wineries

Piha – which represents a rugged West Coast beach

Hunua Ranges – one of the nation’s most famous bush areas

Dick Smith Electronics CEO, Mr Nick Abboud, said the company had no hesitation in sponsoring the tournament for the second year running.

“After such a successful inaugural year and a sell-out stadium of 90,000, we are anticipating the 2015 tournament to exceed expectations once again,” Mr Abboud said

“We know Auckland will put on a spectacular show and provide great atmosphere, not just in the stadium, but across the entire city.”

All 16 NRL teams will enter the tournament which carries prize money of more than $AU2.4 million.

The teams, which have nine players, are split into the four pools and play nine minute halves.

The top two teams from each group advance to the knockout stage of the tournament before the two top teams play in the final. 

Event travel packages are currently on sale in Australia through Sportsnet Holidays, (AUS) with three day packages including tickets, return flights, transfers and accommodation starting from just $1335 per person.

Domestic travel packages are also available in New Zealand through Tickets are only currently available as part of a travel package purchase.   

Tickets will go on sale to the general public from October 9.

Acknowledgement of Country

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Senior Partners