You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Sea Eagles 1972 Premiership winning team

Today - September 16, 2020 - marks 48 years since the Manly Warringah Sea Eagles claimed their inaugural NSWRL first grade premiership title in 1972.

The Sea Eagles recorded a 19-14 victory over the Eastern Suburbs Roosters under Coach Ron Willey and the captaincy of Fred Jones.

It was Manly's sixth attempt at winning a premiership and came 25 years after entering the competition in 1947.

Sea Eagles v Roosters - Grand Final, 1972

Sign up for a free NRL Account to access this video and other exclusive content.

Sign Up

Already have an NRL Account? Log In

Not sure? Learn more about an NRL Account.

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles 

1 Graham Eadie,  2 Ken Irvine, 3 Ray Branighan, 4 Bob Fulton, 5 Max Brown, 6 Ian Martin, 7 Dennis Ward, 8 Bill Hamilton, 9 Fred Jones (c), 10 John O’Neill, 11 Allan Thomson, 12 Terry Randall, 13 Malcolm Reilly. Coach: Ron Willey

Everything that Ken Arthurson had done for the club had fallen into place. It was an unbelievable feeling.It was so exciting to finally be the premiers

Bob Fulton - The Sea Eagle Has Landed book

Eastern Suburbs Roosters

1 Allan McKean, 2 Jim Porter, 3 Harry Cameron, 4 Mark Harris, 5 Bill Mullins, 6 John Ballesty, 7 Kevin Junee, 8 John Armstrong, 9 Peter Moscatt, 10 Arthur Beetson, 15 Greg Bandiera, 12 John Quayle, 13 Ron Coote (c), bench 16 Laurie Freier. Coach: Don Furner

Match Details

Sea Eagles 19 (Jones, Branighan tries; Branighan 6 goals; Fulton field goal) d Roosters 14 (Ballesty, Mullins tries;  McKean 4 goals), Sydney Cricket Ground, 16 September 1972. Referee: Keith Page. Crowd: 54,357.