You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Competition - NRL. Round - Round 13. Teams - Manly Warringah Sea Eagles v Canberra Raiders. Date - 4th of June 2017. Venue - Lottoland, Brookvale, NSW. Photographer - Paul Barkley | © NRL Photos

Four Manly Warringah Sea Eagles players have been named in the Australian Prime Minister’s XIII to take on Papua New Guinea Prime Minister’s XIII in Port Moresby on Saturday 23 September.

Tom Trbojevic, Api Koroisau, Jake Trbojevic, and Dylan Walker will pull on the green and gold under Australian Coach Mal Meninga for the match at the National Football Stadium in the nation’s capital.

It is a great reward for each of the Manly players after starring strongly for the Sea Eagles and playing a major role in the team reaching the finals for the first time since 2014 under Coach Trent Barrett.

Meninga has named six debutants for the game while a further six players in the squad represented the Kangaroos in the ANZAC Test match earlier this year. Tom Trbojevic is the only player yet to have played a representative match at senior level.

Players are chosen from teams not currently involved in the NRL finals series.

With a little more than a month to go until the Rugby League World Cup, Meninga said the annual invitational match would be used as a genuine selection trial for players pushing for spots in the Kangaroos’ World Cup squad.

“I’m absolutely delighted with this team. We’ve chosen the best available players in each position with fifteen of the eighteen players having represented their State already,” Meninga said.

“To get these guys together so close to the Rugby League World Cup is a real coup for our preparations, which will really kick into gear following the NRL Grand Final.

“Some of them have been fortunate enough to have already experienced playing in PNG, but for the new guys, it really is something to cherish. There’s nothing else quite like it.

“I’m looking forward to seeing how everyone gels together in a short timeframe and handles the occasion.”

The Prime Minister’s XIII will also be involved in a series of events alongside the Harvey Norman Jillaroos including community visits and coaching clinics while on the ground in Papua New Guinea and are supported by the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT).

Australian Prime Minister’s XIII squad:

Jack Bird (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)*
Josh Dugan (St George-Illawarra Dragons)
Andrew Fifita (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)*
Tyson Frizell (St George-Illawarra Dragons)
Dane Gagai (Newcastle Knights)
Wade Graham (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)
Valentine Holmes (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)*
Josh Jackson (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
David Klemmer (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
Api Koroisau (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)*
James Maloney (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)
Josh Papalii (Canberra Raiders)
James Tedesco (Wests Tigers)
Jake Trbojevic (Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles)
Tom Trbojevic (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)
Paul Vaughan (St George-Illawarra Dragons)*
Dylan Walker (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)*
Aaron Woods © (Wests Tigers)

*Denotes PMXIII debut


Coach: Mal Meninga