Strong fan base being built for Blacktown Workers Sea Eagles

The fan base begins...Stacey Mackenzie and some of the Blacktown Workers Sea Eagles players at the meet and greet function on Saturday night.

What started out as an idea by passionate Manly supporter Stacey MacKenzie could well be the catalyst for something big for the new Blacktown Workers Sea Eagles team.

And if the spirit and warmth shown at the inaugural meet and greet function held at Blacktown Workers Sports Club on Saturday night is any indication, then the Blacktown Workers Sea Eagles team will have an army of supporters before long.

As an administrator of the respected Manly Warringah Sea Eagles Supporters News group – whose goal is to share posts and debate in a positive and family friendly manner - Stacey posted an invite for fellow supporters to meet the new NSW Intrust team at a social function at the Workers Sports Club.

To their credit, they came in numbers from everywhere to show their commitment to this new Sea Eagles team, including Len, who drove from Tamworth on the day.

Who said Manly fans don’t travel?

Arriving in their Sea Eagles colours, it didn’t take long before they were purchasing the Blacktown Workers Sea Eagles merchandise, whilst mingling with the players and coaching staff.

“It was a fantastic event and one our players and staff were blown away by the support the team has already received,’’ said Head Coach Pat Weisner.

“In our eyes, we are all Sea Eagles now, whether you come from Manly or Blacktown. We are in this together and we are proud of who we are.”

It might only be a small group of supporters now, but with the quality of the players and the coaching staff of the Blacktown Workers Sea Eagles, the fan base will grow very quickly in what will be a very exciting season.

From small beginnings, big things grow!

Blacktown Workers Sea Eagles Intrust Super Premiership Draw

Rd 1: Sunday, March 5: vs Newtown, H.E Laybutt Field, Blacktown, 3pm

Rd 2: Sunday, March 12: v North Sydney Bears, H.E Laybutt Fields, Blacktown, 3pm

Rd 3: Sunday, March 19: v Wentworthville, Ringrose Park, 3pm

Rd 4: Saturday, March 25: v Canterbury Bulldogs, Lottoland, 2.10pm (Fox Sports)

Rd 5:  Sunday, April 2: vs NZ Warriors, Mt Smart Stadium (1.45pm NZ time)

Rd 6:  Saturday, April 8: v Illawarra Cutters, Lottoland, 12.40pm (Fox Sports)

Rd 7: Saturday, April 15; v Newcastle, Lottoland, 12.40pm (Fox Sports)

Rd 8: Saturday, April 22: vs Wests Tigers, Leichhardt Oval, 3pm.

Rd 9: Sunday, April 30: vs Penrith, H.E Laybutt Field, Blacktown, 3pm

Rd 10: Saturday, May 13: v Wyong Roos, Morry Breen Oval, 3pm

Rd 11: Sunday, May 21: vs North Sydney Bears, North Sydney Oval, 3pm

Rd 12: Bye

Rd 13: Sunday, June 4: v Mounties, Lottoland, 11.45am (Fox Sports)

Rd 14: Sunday, June 11; vs NZ Warriors, H.E Laybutt Field, Blacktown, 1pm

Rd 15: Saturday, June 17: vs Newtown, Henson Park, 3pm

Rd 16:  Bye

Rd 17: Sunday, July 2: v Wentworthville, H.E Laybutt Field, Blacktown, 3pm

Rd 18: Saturday, July 8: vs Penrith, Pepper Stadium, 3.10pm

Rd 19: Saturday, July 15: v Newcastle, Newcastle, 3.10pm (Fox Sports).

Rd 20: Saturday, July 22: vs Canterbury, Belmore Sports Ground, 3pm.

Rd 21: Bye

Rd 22: Sunday, August 6: vs Wyong, H.E Laybutt Field, Blacktown, 3pm.

Rd 23: Sunday, August 13: vs Wests Tigers, H.E Laybutt Field, Blacktown, 3pm.

Rd 24: Saturday, August 19: vs Illawarra Cutters, WIN Stadium, 3pm.

Rd 25: Saturday, August 26: vs Mounties, Aubrey Keech Reserve, 3pm.