You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

We continue ‘Our Proud History’ series as part of our 70th Year Anniversary. The Sea Eagles were granted entry to the 1947 NSWRL first grade competition on November 4, 1946.

Former Manly Warringah half-back Matt Orford produced a memorable performance to help crush the Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs on this day, April 23, in 2006.

A crowd of 13,621 on a Sunday afternoon witnessed ‘The Ox’ score two tries and kick six goals from eight attempts in Manly’s 40-14 round seven win at Stadium Australia (now ANZ Stadium).

The Des Hasler coached Sea Eagles forwards dominated a Bulldogs pack comprising the likes of Mark O’Meley, Roy Asotasi, Willie Mason, Andrew Ryan and Sonny Bill Williams. The Sea Eagles ran riot in the first half to lead 28-6 at the break.

Replacement winger Paul Stephenson also scored two tries in the win. Centres Steve Bell and Steve Matai, and lock and captain Ben Kennedy, also crossed for four pointers.

The Manly team that day was: Chris Hicks, Michael Robertson, Steve Bell, Steve Matai, Paul Stephenson, Travis Burns, Matt Orford, Jason King, Michael Monaghan, Brent Kite, Steve Menzies, Anthony Watmough, Ben Kennedy (C); reserves Shayne Dunley, Luke Williamson, George Rose, Mark Bryant. Coach: Des Hasler.

Matt Orford 

Manly 2006-2009: 98 games, 17 tries, 242 goals, 9fg, 561 points.

Captained the Sea Eagles in the 2008 Grand Final win over Melbourne. Won the Dally M Medal for Player of the Year 2008.

Manly’s premiership record on April 23

Played 6: won 5, lost 1.

Rd 4, 1967: Manly 11 d Eastern Suburbs 10, Sydney Sports Ground.

Rd 5, 1972: Manly 18 d Western Suburbs 14, Brookvale Oval.

Rd 5, 1978: Manly 27 d Parramatta 15, Sydney Cricket Ground.

Rd 9, 1983: Manly 24 d Canberra 14, Seiffert Oval.

Rd 6, 1989: Balmain 9 d Manly 8, Leichhardt Oval.

Rd 7, 2006: Manly 40 d Bulldogs 14, Stadium Australia.