You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Competition - NYC Premiership Round - Round 06 Teams – NZ Warriors v Manly Warringah Sea Eagles Date – 9th of April 2016 Venue – Mt Smart Stadium, Auckland, NZ Photographer – Shane Wenzlick

TRYTIME: Centre Brad Parker scores one of his two tries at Mt Smart Stadium.

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles suffered a 28-20 loss to the Warriors at Mt Smart Stadium tonight in round six of the Holden Cup competition.

Cade Cust made his debut at half-back for the Sea Eagles, replacing Hutana Coffin.

The Sea Eagles opened the scoring in the third minute when the ball was shifted left for centre Brad Parker to score out wide. Five-eighth Nicholas Hynes converted for a 6-0 lead.

The Warriors then put on two quick tries in succession through winger Lewis Sousemea and full-back Kane Telea for a 10-6 lead after 20 minutes.

The home side extended the lead to 16-6 after prop Isaiah Papalii creashed through two defenders to score next to the posts.

Some quick passing through the hands of Cade Cust and full-back Jayden El-Jalkh gave Parker room to move to score his second try. Hynes failed to convert the try for a 16-10 scoreline after 31 minutes.

Telea grabbed his second try to give the Warriors a 20-10 lead before a superb offload by Cust saw second-rower Billy Bainbridge score next to the posts to leave Manly trailing 22-16 at half-time.

The opening 28 minutes of the second half was a dour struggle until Manly winger Harlan Collins used his strength to crash over in the left corner for a 22-20 scoreline.

The Warriors secured victory a few minutes later when centre Junior Paugx stole the ball off El-Jalkh to race 20 metres to score. Ioka converted for a 28-20 lead.

The loss leaves the Sea Eagles winless after six rounds but the side showed tremendous fighting spirit and are getting close to their first victory.

 Sea Eagles team

1 Jayden El-Jalkh

2 Mitch Thomas

3 Jesse Ramien

4 Brad Parker

5 Harlan Collins

6 Nicholas Hynes

7 Cade Cust

8 Elia Faatui

9 Heath Garay

10 Darcy Cox

11 Billy Bainbridge

12 Lucas Price

13 John Walker


14 Jon Bernard Kairouz

15 Joshua Martin

16 Moses Noovao-McGreal

17 John Tuivaiti